Jump to content

Call 1-877-678-2096 for Support

Sourcefire Agent Service Keeps Failing


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 haroldb

haroldb

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 26 February 2012 - 02:52 PM

I keep finding that Immunet Plus 3.0.5.7980 is reporting that the "Sourcefire Agent Service" isn't running.  The system is running Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 with all patches applied.  Microsoft Security Essentials 2.1.1116.0 is the primary antimalware product installed.  This is a replacement PC that I just installed Immunet Plus on.  The only thing that might be at all unusual about the system is that we have two users and switch between them regularly with Fast User Switching.

Screenshot attached and I'll send along the dianostic tool output file.

Attached Files



#2 ritchie58

ritchie58

    Staff Member

  • Moderators
  • 1,560 posts
  • LocationOil City, Pa. U.S.A.

Posted 27 February 2012 - 04:53 AM

Hello haroldb, here is an exert from a previous thread made by Millard, one of the chief developers, who stated this information relating to your topic of multiple accounts on one machine. I hope this info helps. Regards, Ritchie:  Do you share this computer with multiple users?  I mean do you do user  switching where you don't log out a previous user?  One of the design  flaws in Immunet is that only one UI or IPTray.exe instance can talk to  only one agent.exe instance.  If you open your Task Manager and view  processes for all users, it's possible that you might see two iptray.exe  instances running.  If you do, kill both of them and restart the  iptray.exe in the instance that you are using.

* Immunet Global Forum Moderator *


#3 karanym

karanym

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 28 February 2012 - 10:06 PM

Just downloaded free version for first time. I get the Sourcefire agent is not running. I tried the solution listed above, but it didn't work.

#4 ritchie58

ritchie58

    Staff Member

  • Moderators
  • 1,560 posts
  • LocationOil City, Pa. U.S.A.

Posted 29 February 2012 - 09:55 AM

One of the first things to check is make sure that no other software is blocking agent.exe from connecting to the internet such as your Firewall, other AV package, behavior blocking software, etc. There is one quick thing to try. Right click on the Immunet System Tray Icon > click on Hide Tray Icon > click on Immunet's Desktop Icon or go to All Programs > Immunet 3.0 folder > click on the Immunet 3.0 Icon. That will launch the GUI and should start agent.exe. Are you comfortable using Command Line Prompts? If so use your Administrator Account, hide the System Tray Icon again and type net stop immunetprotect, wait a short while and then type net start immunetprotect. If none of these seem to work could you please submit a SDT report? There seems to be a number of users experiencing very similar behavior recently. How to create a SDT report can be found at this link.

* Immunet Global Forum Moderator *


#5 swampy11

swampy11

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 29 October 2013 - 02:18 AM

Immunet no longer appears in my system tray.  I have uninstalled and reinstalled it twice.  The program in there in my All Programs, but not in the taskbar.  Plus, I stiil get the Sourcefire agent is not running error and can not scan.  I turned off ever AV when I reinstalled Immunet.  Any suggestions.  I have never had any issue with Immunet in the past, but rule of thumb, don't let you wife use your computer :>}
Thanks in advance.
`swamp




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users